Please note: We do not provide emissions testing at our shop. Air Care Colorado has a list of all emission testing locations and wait times.
Emission testing is an important tool to help reduce ground level ozone pollution along the Front Range of Colorado. It is required in many Front Range communities (including Boulder, Louisville, and Lafayette.)
- All gas vehicle emission testing in Boulder County is conducted at an Air Care Colorado facility. There are locations in Boulder, Longmont and Broomfield. You can find those here. There is an exception for 1981 and older vehicles. Diesel vehicle emission testing must be done at a Licensed Diesel Emissions Testing Station.
- The easiest way to make sure your car passes emissions is to have it regularly serviced.
- The test costs $25.00 for most vehicles. Payment may only be made by cash or check.
- The majority of cars pass emissions. If you fail your first test, you may have one free retest within 10 calendar days.
- In general, vehicles are retested every two years. Even-year models are tested in even years and odd-numbered models tested in odd-numbered years.
- There is a 30-day grace period for obtaining your emissions test and motor vehicle registration sticker. There is a $25 per month penalty for going beyond the grace period, up to $100. In addition, you can be ticketed for having expired vehicle tags.
- Vehicles do not require an emissions test until their 4th model year.
- If your vehicle fails emissions twice and you’ve spent over $715 for emission-related repairs it’s possible to get an emissions test waiver.
- One-time hardship waivers are also available.
- If you are not able to get your car in for an emissions test you can apply for an extension.
Note: The information for this article came from the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles website and is subject to change. Please confirm all details on the DMV website or call the DMV for more information.